Hagia Sofia

Title, Duration, Place, Year, Publisher, Dedicated to, Premiere (performer(s), place, date)

HAGIA SOFIA, 8', Bayonne, 2011, Schott, to Sabine and Siegfried Petri, Naji Hakim, Vleugels organ in the Schlosskirche, Chemnitz, Germany, 18.09.11


The composition, Hagia Sofia (Holy Wisdom), is based on the medieval antiphon "Crucem sanctam subiit", which was suggested by the composer's son Jean-Paul due to its likely links with the Templar Knights. It is articulated in four harmonic and ornamental variations (Maestoso, Andante, Maestoso, Allegro) and is framed by a solemn organum setting of the medieval theme.



Crucem sanctam subiit,
qui infernum confregit,
accintus est potentia,
surrexit die tertia. Alleluia


He bore the holy cross
who shattered hell
He was girded with power
He rose on the third day. Alleluia.
Il portait la sainte croix
qui a brisé l'enfer
Il était ceint de pouvoir
Il s'est levé le troisième jour. Alléluia.



Naji Hakim : Hagia Sofia, page 5, excerpt from the autograph manuscript